Tuesday 16 Jan 2007

£1 MILLION UPGRADE AT BOLTON ON DEARNE STATION

Region & Route:
Passengers in South Yorkshire are to benefit from new, improved facilities after Network Rail completes an £1.083 million upgrade of Bolton on Dearne station. The station platforms will be rebuilt and resurfaced. New waiting shelters and new fencing will be also be installed, and the platform lighting will be renewed. Work begins on 21 January and is being carried out when no trains are running in order to minimise disruption to travellers. Network Rail’s Area General Manager Graham Botham said: “As the national rail infrastructure operator, Network Rail is committed to investing in the rail network to improve facilities for passengers. This scheme will bring real benefits to all who use the station.”

Notes to editors

The work is scheduled to take place between the 21 January to 18 November with night works every Sunday between 00.01 and 8.45am and Mid-week from 00.01 to 5.30am the following morning on: Monday 22 January to Friday 26 January Monday 5 March to Friday 9 March Monday 16 April to Friday 20 April Monday 28 May to Friday 1 June Monday 9 July to Friday 13 July Tuesday 21 August to Friday 24 August Monday 1 October to Friday 5 October Monday 12 November to Friday 16 November

Contact information

Passengers / community members
Network Rail national helpline
03457 11 41 41

Latest travel advice
Please visit National Rail Enquiries

Journalists
Network Rail press office -London North Eastern & East Midlands route
01904 383180
mediarelations@networkrail.co.uk

About Network Rail

We own, operate and develop Britain's railway infrastructure; that's 20,000 miles of track, 30,000 bridges, tunnels and viaducts and the thousands of signals, level crossings and stations. We run 20 of the UK's largest stations while all the others, over 2,500, are run by the country's train operating companies.

Every day, there are more than 4.8 million journeys made in the UK and over 600 freight trains run on the network. People depend on Britain's railway for their daily commute, to visit friends and loved ones and to get them home safe every day. Our role is to deliver a safe and reliable railway, so we carefully manage and deliver thousands of projects every year that form part of the multi-billion pound Railway Upgrade Plan, to grow and expand the nation's railway network to respond to the tremendous growth and demand the railway has experienced - a doubling of passenger journeys over the past 20 years.

Follow us on Twitter: @networkrail
Visit our online newsroom: www.networkrailmediacentre.co.uk